Carreg Cennen Castle (South Wales, Brecon Beacons National Park) was build most probably in the 12th century by Lord Rhys, Welsh prince of Deheubarth. The ruins we can see today are the result of an over thirty years rebuilding work on the castle by an English Lord John Giffard. Carren Cennen was freed from the English for a brief moment in 1403, during the uprising led by the legendary Owain Glyndŵr.
The castle can be seen from afar:
And you can get to it on foot:
Its location is very characteristic – on a steep cliff:
The views are breathtaking. No wonder that the deserted and isolated castle became a hideout for local robbers. To end it, in 1462, around 500 men were hired to demolish and destroy the place for a bit over 25 pounds.
That’s what the castle looks like from one side:
A short clip from inside the ruins:
A fall from there would be painful:
And that’s what it looks like from the other side (just notice the most beautiful view!):